Pharrell Williams: Bionic Yarn

by jawaraalleyne

 

Pharrell Williams… You’ve done it again. And by it, I mean you’ve added another reason to the “why we love pharrell’ list.

His interconnected brain and heart is one that inspires me immensely and I do wish that someday I might be as great a man as he is. Something that I think we should all strive to be, simply because he aims to make the world a better place. He doesn’t just talk about it in a hypothetical manner, but he understands that nothing will get done if we all just tip toe around the problem expecting someone to provide us with an alternative. Also because his humility is desireable stating “I just do what I do, it’s not something to be revered as something that’s great”.

In case you weren’t briefed, he is a part of a company called Bionic Yarn which basically makes fabric from recycled plastic bottled. The company has collaborated with brands like Timberland, Moncler and Gap and recycled over 1.7 million plastic bottles from their project with Timberland alone.  The company was founded by highschool classmates Tyson Toussant and Tim Coombs who both devised this practical way to be resourceful. Neither of them had formal training in textiles or engineering, which goes to show that if you’ve got a vision for something, only your lack of action will prevent it from happening.

