More School Please

by jawaraalleyne

ual-logo-for-lisa

It’s summer and what have I been doing for the past two weeks since I’ve left school? Going back to school.

Most people (well I say most people but I really mean pretty much everyone) will try to run as far away from school the earliest opportunity they get in the summer. Whether because the beaches are beckoning their name or because they hate the idea of going to school unless they have to. No one wants to be stuck in those stuffy old buildings any longer than necessary.

I on the other hand can’t get enough, because within those horribly stuffy old buildings is a maze of golden information that if I can navigate  and find, I too will be golden. Such a thrilling adventure!

For this summer I won’t be going back home to the Cayman Islands and while I’m still here in London looking for a job and internship, I find it hard to waste my time when there is so much to learn.

In the meantime while I’m waiting for a call, I’ve enlisted myself in a series of classes, tutorials and training sessions over the course of three weeks which are being offered at UAL by Artsmart. A series of workshops which are completely free and teaches you so much about the creative industry.

People probably think I’m crazy when I tell them that I’m going to school through my summer holidays but when your really driven about something you feel passionate about, it’s almost impossible to stop.

